Tags

, , , , ,

Question: How to Know the Unknown God?
—–
Acts 17:21 For all the Athenians and the foreigners who were there spent their time in nothing else but either to tell or to hear some new thing.
22 Then Paul stood in the midst of the Areopagus and said, “Men of Athens, I perceive that in all things you are very religious;
23 “for as I was passing through and considering the objects of your worship, I even found an altar with this inscription: TO THE UNKNOWN GOD. Therefore, the One whom you worship without knowing, Him I proclaim to you:
—–
What a great way to begin sharing about Jesus. On Mars’ Hill, the Areopagus, Paul takes something they were already familiar with, the altar to the Unknown God, and uses that as a springboard to teach them about the true God and the resurrection.

The Athenians were fortunate to have Paul in person to tell them about the true God. Yesterday I was teaching some teenagers about Jesus. While I was speaking, one teen blurted out, “I want to really know Jesus”. The teen felt that Jesus was unknowable.

I was thinking, wouldn’t it be nice if Jesus could be here in person so the teens can really get to know Him. But I told the teen that we can know much about Jesus through the pages of the Bible. We are so fortunate to have many of Jesus’ words recorded for us. Not only were His words recorded, but they were then preserved for centuries and even translated into our own language.

God does not have to remain unknowable. He has revealed himself in the scriptures. Let us not neglect to read the Bible. Our Creator has revealed Himself to us through the Bible. What other book can be this important?

Why don’t I understand the Bible when I read it?

I have heard this question from several different people. I must admit there are some difficult passages. However, most of the Bible is understandable, but it does require meditation. That is one reason I like to write about it. Writing helps me think the Bible through and apply it to my life. So just don’t read it and go onto your next task. Spend time thinking about it. Think, meditate, pray, maybe even write as I do, but put effort into it.

God has also given us teachers. If you have a question, ask your Pastor. I also find Bible commentaries very useful. These guys have studied the Bible their whole life, and they have written about every verse in the Bible. My two favorite commentaries are by John Gill and Matthew Henry. Both full Bible Commentaries are free on the Internet.

So read and study the Bible. Get to know what He has revealed about himself in the Holy Scriptures that you may continue to grow in the knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ.

