Tags

, , , ,

Question: Have you been Mocked?
—–
32 And when they heard of the resurrection of the dead, some mocked, while others said, “We will hear you again on this matter.”
33 So Paul departed from among them.
34 However, some men joined him and believed, among them Dionysius the Areopagite, a woman named Damaris, and others with them.
—–
Paul’s speech to the Athenians was interrupted after he mentioned that the judge of the world was resurrected. Some mocked him for mentioning the resurrection. But praise God that others wanted to hear more and that some joined him and believed, among them was Dionysius and Damaris.

How important is the resurrection?

The resurrection is such an important doctrine of Christianity because it shows that Jesus has overcome both Sin and Death. The resurrection proves that He is not like any other man, but He is the God-Man, the Judge of the whole world. We don’t pray in the name of a dead man, but we pray in the name of the living Man, Christ Jesus The Lord. You can trust in the resurrection. The Apostles and over 500 people were eye-witnesses to the most important event in history, Jesus’ resurrection.

Have you been mocked?

Paul was mocked for proclaiming the resurrection. Have we been mocked for our Christian beliefs? I must admit I have rarely been mocked. Most people are respectful and are even supportive of my faith. I can only count on one hand how many times I have been mocked for being a Christian. It has been rare indeed. However, just last Wednesday night my friend from church and I were treated poorly. We were going door to door inviting people to our House Church. We visited a home where the owner was drunk, loud, and showing off for his co-workers that were visiting him. My friend said, We are here to invite you to church. He said, Get the beeeep of my property, and I don’t need that beeeeping church. Then as he went back to his buddies in the garage, I could hear a few other choice words and some laughing.

I am thankful that the man only intended to cuss at us and nothing more serious. I have pity that if this man doesn’t repent before his death, that this experience will haunt his memory when he must answer at the judgement. Father, have mercy on that man and open his heart to Your gospel, for he knew not what he was doing.

Has God brought forth fruit?

After Paul was mocked, the text says some wanted to hear more and that some joined him and believed. Isn’t it great how God brought forth fruit right after Paul was mocked. And that same Wednesday night that I spoke about above, God also lifted our hearts by giving us two good contacts. One dear brother sang some gospel music to us, and one dear lady was open to visiting our church. We were very encouraged.

John 15:20 “Remember the word that I said to you, ‘A servant is not greater than his master.’ If they persecuted Me, they will also persecute you. If they kept My word, they will keep yours also.”

Laborers in Christ, keep up the good work and God bless. Bob

—–additional references

Mat 10:34 Think not that I am come to send peace on earth: I came not to send peace, but a sword.
35 For I am come to set a man at variance against his father, and the daughter against her mother, and the daughter in law against her mother in law.
36 And a man’s foes [shall be] they of his own household.

The Gospel
1 Cor 15:1 Moreover, brethren, I declare to you the gospel which I preached to you, which also you received and in which you stand,
2 by which also you are saved, if you hold fast that word which I preached to you—unless you believed in vain.
3 For I delivered to you first of all that which I also received: that Christ died for our sins according to the Scriptures,
4 and that He was buried, and that He rose again the third day according to the Scriptures,
5 and that He was seen by Cephas, then by the twelve.
6 After that He was seen by over five hundred brethren at once, of whom the greater part remain to the present, but some have fallen asleep.
7 After that He was seen by James, then by all the apostles.
8 Then last of all He was seen by me also, as by one born out of due time.
9 For I am the least of the apostles, who am not worthy to be called an apostle, because I persecuted the church of God.
10 But by the grace of God I am what I am, and His grace toward me was not in vain; but I labored more abundantly than they all, yet not I, but the grace of God which was with me.

