fromthepreacherspc

The Psalmist declared, “Be merciful unto me, O God, be merciful unto me; for my soul taketh refuge in thee: Yea, in the shadow of thy wings will I take refuge, Until these calamities be overpast. My soul is among lions; I lie among them that are set on fire, Even the sons of men, whose teeth are spears and arrows, and their tongue a sharp sword” (Psa. 57:1, 4).

With these words, David describes himself in a state of great adversity. The occasion that prompted this psalm was the desire of King Saul to kill David. Saul was jealous of David and wanted him terminated. David spent much of his early life fleeing from the wrath of Saul.

How did David cope with all this adversity? Was it through complaining, feeling sorry for himself, or having the “woe is me” syndrome? No! Amazingly, David overcame adversity by putting his…

View original post 383 more words

